Back to Ken Follett and his Hammer of Eden

 French title: Apocalypse sur commande.

I much prefer the English title of this thriller. I was curious to know what it was all about this time; I was intrigued. I seldom read reviews about a book before reading it. Don’t want to be biased, I wish to be surprised. When read, I try to write about it and then I have a look at what other readers think. I agree or disagree. That’s all there is to it.

10409810

When a basic commune, located in a leased mountain lair in California, tracing back to the1970’s is theatened, 30 or some years later, by the flooding of their paradise-like land by a power plant , their leader, a sort of previous hoodlum turned into a charismatic guru, won’t admit it and will imagine to stop the flooding by triggering off man-provoked earthquakes along the San Andreas Fault if the project is not purely and simply abandonned .

No reaction from the Governor of the state. A war of attrition starts between the two men, the governor refusing a reiterated ban on new power plants.

The leader with some influent people from the commune will , then, manage to steal a seismic vibrator to be used to send vibrations into the earth to create eathquakes. The authorities won’t think it possible until a lady detective from the FBI steps in trying to stop these wako eco-terrorists, their guru being a characteristic psychopath who doesn’t care about the suffering of others.

The book, another page turner by Follett, is about a race against the clock to prevent the terrifying and destructive quakes. Follett knows how to keep us spellbound once again. And I got the answer to the book title!

After reading this book I cruise the net to get some more info about communes in the States in the 70’s. I found a very interesting  magazine article on a lady who was born on a commune, during the  hippie movement. At one point she talks of dystopia!