The tiny archipelago of the Flannan isles, a university professor, a coffin road and bees

Peter May’s very last new book published in January 2016 takes us back to the Hebrides once again. This time to a small archipelago, so tiny that Wikipedia calls it a group of isles  in the Outer Hebrides of Scotland, off Lewis Island shore.

27798536

These isles are enshrouded ( I like that word which is absolutely appropriated here in my opinion) in mystery, not only in the mist and in furious sea waters but also because of an old story of the unexplained disappearance, up to now,  of 3 lighthouse keepers.

Mystery, danger and crime lurk on these isles.

May plays on the readers’ nerves right to the end, to the extend you can’t quit reading that book. I read it in two days including some part of one night to get to the final full stop. A real page turner leaving you quite frustrated to get the proper key ( which you think you get many times) to solve the enigma that runs all along the pages. 

My curiosity was piqued right from the beginning by Peter May’s dedication ” For the bees”.

What had bees got to do with a coffin road ( really weird name which reveals itself to bear a true name and walking circuits are even organized on that road) in the Hebrides? My Celtic DNA was at work there 😉 We have quite strange stories around in Brittany too, nearly all dealing with death 😉

Apart from old stories, the fight for the preservation of bees and their destruction by poisonous Neonicotinoids and the collapse of bee colonies reminded me of campaigns against Monsanto, spilling insecticides all over the world. 

I will recommend everybody to read that book, once again half-true and half fictional. The future of our planet needs info which can also be found here. 

If I were to evaluate Peter May’s book, I would grant it 10 stars out of 10. I do cross my fingers it will be translated in French and in all possible languages throughout the world. May’s book can be a strong eye opener on the collapse of the bee colonies so essential to mankind. Without bees no flowers, no vegetables, no meat, no milk etc… Hunger, famine … 

Thank you, Mr May.